Frankelstache

Life, America, Randomness

How iPhones Are Killing Our World

with 5 comments

The world has recently been blessed by the appearance of iPhones and their equivalents. Indeed, a great step for Man, and another proof that the Asians and their technology have won, again.

In flat advertising/marketing terms, iPhone’s ad campaign is considered really good. It shows nothing but the product and its benefits throughout the ad, it’s fun, easy and relatable. My favorite ad is the one where the narrator asks the viewers “what if you needed so and so…?” and then answers “There’s an app (application) for that.” Their tagline is “Solving life’s dilemmas, one app at a time”, which I find to be a great line from iPhone’s perspective. But what is wrong about these shenanigans is that instead of marching mankind forward, this technology is doing the opposite.

If you ask me what are life’s dilemmas, I’ll ask in return what in this world determines what happens after you die? Or how do I know if I’ve found ‘The One’? Should I move closer to my parents when they’re old or put them in a senior citizen’s home? Should I hug my baby when he cries or toughen him up by ignoring? Is it moral to tell on a friend when you know he’s cheating? Should we negotiate with terrorists in order to bring home captured soldiers? Is it okay to commit acts of violence in the name of JC or Muhammad or Moses? how come there aren’t any apps for these dilemmas?

Knowing my friend’s twitter status at any given moment isn’t really a part of (my) life’s dilemmas. And as for finding if a certain restaurant is open tonight for dinner, that’s not really a substantial issue either. I’m not saying technology isn’t glorious, I’m saying that it’s startling to see a product celebrating the fact that it will relieve you of thinking for yourself. Reminds me of when Pizza Hut celebrated the fact that their “Pizzone” has a pound of cheese in it. ONE FULL POUND OF CHEESE. And that’s a selling point – that’s the thing that will make you want to buy it and eat it. And it did. But I digress.

Pretty soon, iPhones will engage in automatic conversations with our acquaintances, giving us more time to play blackjack online and be happy with how connected we are with all of our friends (“look, I even found my high-school band on facebook!!”). Today’s kids are already way more comfortable having connections and interactions online than doing it face to face. Is it our future to be a society where human touch is nothing but an archaic concept? Is human touch doomed to end up like payphones?

Written by Frankelstache

March 25, 2009 at 11:28 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think human touch and interaction is definitely minimized, but I think you raise an interesting point: All these apps and social application text messages web 2.0, designed to bring people together, are in fact doing quite the opposite. They keep people chained to computers, indoors and away from others.

    But human interaction won’t die. I think when you do meet someone in person, you cherish it more because it can be such a rarity these days.

    P.S. I love the idioms post. You’re shit is funny.

    urbaneskimo

    March 25, 2009 at 1:20 pm

  2. If you’re looking for the answers to this questions in technology, you’re doomed, it’s like thinking with you’re heart and feeling with you’re head

    yehav

    March 27, 2009 at 9:30 pm

  3. UrbanEskimo: Thanks for stopping by. True, you do cherish it more. But as a society, it’s very clear (to me, at least) that ‘Millennials’ feel way more comfortable interacting via email/ichat than in person or even phone. I rarely see people sit in a coffee shop and just talk. I also know many people that are active social cats online, whereas in person they get completely lost.

    Yehav: Not sure I follow your statement. I like your metaphor, though.
    Nonetheless, in the words of Virgin Mary – feel free to come again.

    frankelstache

    March 28, 2009 at 6:02 am

  4. thanks for a great post, i may put a link to it my own blog .if thats ok with you?
    cheeres
    liran

    li

    April 25, 2009 at 2:43 am

  5. Thanks, Liran. Good Hebrew name, I approve!
    🙂

    frankelstache

    April 25, 2009 at 2:02 pm


Leave a Reply

