Frankelstache

Life, America, Randomness

Oh Carolina

leave a comment »

The road is so dark, I can barely see more than 50 meters ahead of me. I pull over to urinate about 40 minutes southeast of Charlotte, and as I unzip my pants I hear an odd sound emerging from the bushes, and recognize the silhouette of a giant deer running away shortly after. It’s 1:30AM, and I’m literally in the middle of nowhere. I look far ahead to see a sign declaring: “God is good. Always” underneath a small church, and note to myself that this is the 5th of these lighted banners I’ve seen since my drive began.

Three days later, my views of America and of Americans had changed dramatically. Excluding a short visit to Fort Lauderdale, this Carolina venture has deflowered me and my innocent perception of the US of A. I’ve heard / read / watched endless tales and legends about “how it’s like in the South”, yet, when my eyes encountered it in real life, I was partly baffled. On Sunday evening I made my way to a local bar alongside Little River on the footsteps of Myrtle Beach, stumbling upon a pack of rednecks, bikers, obese people, little kids, slutty fake-haired blondes and Jesus Christ, tattooed on every 2nd person’s body. All the men are tall and gorgeous. Women are either redhead or platinum blonde, with blue eyes and short skirts. It’s 90+ degrees, the scent of honeysuckle and the ocean is filling my nostrils, and everybody appear to be completely content leading a life that essentially consists of lunches at Ruby Tuesdays and fried chicken with a cold PBR for dinner. So, is this the real America?

The South is so different. It’s poles apart than, say, my beloved San Francisco. A sense of small town mentality rules the atmosphere and people don’t care for much but living the moment. Or do they? I saw the same people wherever I went, and they seemed familiar with all and sundry around them. Lots of Army stickers glued to cars, and from some reason, ‘Hibachi style cooking’ is big here. I saw no “Apple” Paraphernalia, and though I might sound like a jerk for saying this, from a few conversations I had with the natives, people didn’t seem too educated, or even a tad aware of anything happening beyond this small South Carolina town. I thought about it a little, and couldn’t really decide if these people are genuinely satisfied with what they have, and they live in this bubble, drinking excessively and behave the way they do in order to celebrate their existence, or are they miserable, and their demeanor is an attempt of escaping this horrible, no future – no present life?

I’m still thinking about it.

Written by Frankelstache

May 12, 2009 at 3:31 pm

Leave a Reply

