Frankelstache

Life, America, Randomness

The Frankelstache English Dictionary, Take 12

with 8 comments

Napcident – Nap – Ci – Dent

“An accidental nap”.

You know when you’re laying on your couch at home reading a book or watching reality trash on tv? Maybe your head is against a nice pillow… there’s a blanket at hand…?

You didn’t get on the couch with sleeping intent, yet all of a sudden, snoozing simply feels like the right thing to do.

And then you fall asleep for anywhere between 20 minutes and 2 hours?

Well my friend, you’ve just experienced a Napcident.

Written by Frankelstache

November 12, 2009 at 4:11 pm

Posted in Language

Tagged with , , , , ,

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Can a napcident happen every night between 9:30 pm and 10:00 pm?

    The Woman You Love

    November 12, 2009 at 4:20 pm

    • Well my brother, as the old goes saying: If it happens once – it’s an accident. Twice – a coincident. Three times – a habit.

      Your questions and participation is appreciated an encouraged.

      Be well
      Frankelstache

      Frankelstache

      November 13, 2009 at 12:14 pm

  2. Um, post this to urbandictionary.com before someone else does. Or I do.

    aaron

    November 13, 2009 at 11:20 am

  3. Napcident – I like that and will be unabashedly pawning it off as my own.

    Jay-Jay

    November 14, 2009 at 8:44 am

  4. Jeez, I’ve been having napcidents for months now and didn’t know it 😯

    In my case, it’s generally when I’m at my laptop. The moment I stop stabbing the keys and let my attention drift then – Zzzzzz. 😳

    I’ve been calling them ‘micro-sleeps’ cos they only lasr a few seconds or minutes but ‘napcident’ is much the better description. From now on then it’s out with ‘microsleep’ and in with ‘napcident’ !!! 😆

    duncanr

    November 20, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    • Hello there, Duncan.

      I do appreciate “Micro-Sleeps”, but to be honest, it feels too techi to me… like something the Japanese will invent and place in their airports, like a chamber for small people, ya know?

      We should definitely discuss this further when a similar situation emerges.

      Farewell,
      Frankelstache

      Frankelstache

      November 20, 2009 at 5:37 pm


Leave a Reply

